Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Our Curriculum

At Christchurch Kindergarten we believe in offering a wide range of teaching materials and learning methods to the children and not to restrict them to one particular method of teaching. By doing this we believe that each individual child can excel to the best of their ability.

We follow the Curriculum Guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage, in order to help prepare your child for when they start school.

Early Years Foundation Stage 2014

The revised EYFS 2014 curriculum will be implemented from September 2015 the changes are as follows:

In the revised EYFS 2014 there are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes in the early years. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their
capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The three prime areas are:

1. Communication and Language

2. Physical Development; and

3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

As the child grows, the prime areas will help children develop skills in four specific areas of learning and these are:

1. Literacy

2. Mathematics

3. Understanding the world; and

4. Expressive art and design.

For more information on the EYFS, please visit